Astronomy

Current Members

Here is a list of everyone who works in Astronomy. Please add '@durham.ac.uk' onto the email addresses given in brackets after the name. Links are also given to their official departmental WWW profile.

Staff
Prof David Alexander (d.m.alexander)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Carlton Baugh (c.m.baugh)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Richard Bower (r.g.bower)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anthony Brown (anthony.brown)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Paula Chadwick (p.m.chadwick)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Shaun Cole (shaun.cole)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ryan Cooke (ryan.j.cooke)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alis Deason (alis.j.deason)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Chris Done (chris.done)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Alastair Edge (alastair.edge)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Peter Edwards (p.j.edwards)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Dr Vincent Eke (v.r.eke)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Azadeh Fattahi (azadeh.fattahi-savadjani)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Carlos Frenk (c.s.frenk)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof John Girkin (j.m.girkin)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Mathilde Jauzac (mathilde.jauzac)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Adrian Jenkins (a.r.jenkins)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Cedric Lacey (cedric.lacey)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Baojiu Li (baojiu.li)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Gordon Love (g.d.love)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Richard Massey (r.j.massey)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anna McLeod (anna.mcleod)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nigel Metcalfe (nigel.metcalfe)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Department/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Leah Morabito (leah.k.morabito)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Simon Morris (simon.morris)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Tim Morris (t.j.morris)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Peder Norberg (peder.norberg)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kieran O'Brien (kieran.s.obrien)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr James Osborn (james.osborn)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Tim Roberts (t.p.roberts)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Christopher Saunter (christopher.saunter)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Simone Scaringi (simone.scaringi)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ray Sharples (r.m.sharples)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ian Smail (ian.smail)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Russell Smith (russell.smith)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Mark Swinbank (a.m.swinbank)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Tom Theuns (tom.theuns)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Richard Wilson (r.w.wilson)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Postdocs/Fellows
Dr Nicola Amorisco (nicola.c.amorisco)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Aristeidis Amvrosiadis (aristeidis.amvrosiadis)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Christian Arnold (christian.arnold)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lisa Bardou (lisa.f.bardou)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alejandro Benitez-Llambay (alejandro.b.llambay)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nazim Bharmal (n.a.bharmal)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alistair Bounds (a.d.bounds)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Cyril Bourgenot (cyril.bourgenot)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Bramall (d.g.bramall)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Timothy Butterley (timothy.butterley)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ariadna Calcines Rosario (ariadna.calcines)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Tsang Keung Chan (tsang.k.chan)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ting-Yun Cheng (ting-yun.cheng)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Christopher Davison (christopher.davison)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Sofia Dimoudi (sofia.dimoudi)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Ann-Marie Dixon (ann-marie.dixon)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Marc Dubbeldam (c.m.dubbeldam)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Andrew Dunn (andrew.dunn)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alexander Eggemeier (alexander.eggemeier)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Oliver Farley (o.j.d.farley)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Xiande Feng (xiande.feng)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Deli Geng (deli.geng)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Stephen Goodsell (stephen.goodsell)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Soh Ikarashi (soh.ikarashi)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Krystian Ilkiewicz (krystian.a.ilkiewicz)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Graham Jones (graham.jones)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jacob Kegerreis (jacob.kegerreis)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Andrew Kirby (a.k.kirby)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Lagattuta (david.j.lagattuta)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Hermine Landt-Wilman (hermine.landt)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Penelope Lawton (p.f.lawton)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Soft Matter and Biological Physics
Mr David Little (david.j.little)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Sheridan Lloyd (sheridan.j.lloyd)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Dr Guillaume Mahler (guillaume.mahler)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Graham Murray (g.j.murray)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Anna Niemiec (anna.niemiec)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr James Nightingale (james.w.nightingale)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kyle Oman (kyle.a.oman)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Ken Parkin (kenneth.parkin)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Department
Dr Adriano Poci (adriano.poci)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Annagrazia Puglisi (annagrazia.puglisi)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alexander Richings (alexander.j.richings)
Department/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Andrew Robertson (andrew.robertson)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr David Rosario (david.rosario)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Cameron Rulten (cameron.b.rulten)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr David Ryder (d.a.ryder)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jurgen Schmoll (jurgen.schmoll)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Shi Shao (shi.shao)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Difu Shi (difu.shi)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lazar Staykov (lazar.staykov)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Patrick Stowell (john.p.stowell)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ryota Tomaru (ryota.tomaru)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Matthew Townson (matthew.townson)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Luke Tyas (luke.m.tyas)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Edward Younger (e.j.younger)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Postgraduates
Mr Atreya Acharyya (atreya.acharyya)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Miss Carolina Andonie-Bahamondes (carolina.p.andonie)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr JoaquĆ­n Armijo-Torres (joaquin.a.armijo-torres)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Stefan Arridge (stefan.arridge)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Cristian Barrera-Hinojosa (cristian.g.barrera)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Christoph Becker (christoph.becker)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alex Beckett (alexander.beckett)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Jack Birkin (jack.birkin)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Joshua Borrow (joshua.borrow)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Thomas Callingham (thomas.m.callingham)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Catherine Cerny (catherine.cerny)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Mark Corrigan (m.k.k.corrigan)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Carolina Cuesta Lazaro (carolina.cuesta-lazaro)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Aoife Curran (aoife.m.curran)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Tony Dalton (tony.dalton)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Chris Davies (christopher.t.davies)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Miguel De-icaza-lizaola (miguel.a.de-icaza-lizaola)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Ugne Dudzeviciute (ugne.dudzeviciute2)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Willem Elbers (willem.h.elbers)
Institute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Mr Edward Elliott (edward.j.elliott)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Alice Eltvedt (alice.m.eltvedt)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Amy Etherington (amy.etherington)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Tilly Anne Evans (tilly.evans)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Victoria Fawcett (victoria.fawcett)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Victor Juan Forouhar Moreno (victor.j.forouhar)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Matteo Fratta (matteo.fratta)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Sam Gibson (sam.gibson)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Polly Gill (polly.j.gill)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Christopher Graham (christopher.j.graham)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ryan Griffiths (ryan.griffiths)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Cameron Grove (cameron.grove)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Kathryn Hartley (kathryn.e.hartley)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Max Harvey (max.harvey)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr Qiuhan He (qiuhan.he)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Volkan Benedict Hofmann (benedict.hofmann)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Joshua Hughes (joshua.g.hughes)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Filip Husko (filip.husko)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Andrew Jackson (andrew.r.jackson2)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ashley Kelly (a.j.kelly)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Lizelke Klindt (lizelke.klindt)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Suttikoon Koonkor (suttikoon.koonkor)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Brivael Laloux (brivael.laloux)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Angus Duncan Alan Mackenzie (angus.d.mackenzie)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Makun Madar (makun.s.madar)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Aurelie Magniez (aurelie.magniez)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Giorgio Manzoni (giorgio.manzoni)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Jake Mitchell (jake.a.mitchell)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Myles Mitchell (m.a.mitchell)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Samuel Moore (samuel.g.moore)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr James Petley (james.w.petley)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Arnau Quera-Bofarull (arnau.quera-bofarull)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Ry Render (patrick.d.render)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Alberto Rosales-de-Leon (alberto.rosales-de-leon)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Thomas Rose (thomas.d.rose)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Cheng-Zong Ruan (cheng-zong.ruan)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Sergio Ruiz-Bonilla (sergio.ruiz-bonilla)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Omar Antonio Ruiz-Macias (omar.a.ruiz-macias)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Thomas Sandnes (thomas.d.sandnes)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aidan Sedgewick (aidan.sedgewick)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Benjamin Shaw (benjamin.j.shaw)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Ellen Sirks (ellen.l.sirks)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Tiantian Sun (tiantian.sun)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Calvin Sykes (calvin.v.sykes)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Hannah Turner (hannah.c.turner)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Louise Welsh (louise.a.welsh)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Ms Lily Westerby-griffin (lily.westerby-griffin)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Lai Zhang (lai.zhang)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Han Zhang (han.zhang3)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Support Staff
Secretarial
Ms Lindsay Borrero (lindsay.borrero)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mrs Dorothy Jenkins (d.m.jenkins)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Shufei Rowe (shufei.rowe)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Claire Whitehill (claire.whitehill)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
 
Computing/Engineering
Dr Alastair Basden (a.g.basden)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Peter Draper (p.w.draper)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Joshua Guy (joshua.j.guy)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Helly (j.c.helly)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aqeeb Hussain (aqeeb.r.hussain)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alan Lotts (a.p.lotts)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Gary McCallum (gary.mccallum)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Richard Regan (richard.regan)
Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aleksander Wawrzynczak (aleksander.wawrzynczak)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Emeritus Staff
Prof David Flower (david.flower)
Quantum Light and Matter
Prof John Lucey (john.lucey)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Myers (r.m.myers)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Osborne (j.l.osborne)
Centre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Tom Shanks (tom.shanks)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Stephenson (f.r.stephenson)
Applied Historical Astronomy
Prof Martin Ward (martin.ward)
Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy

Contact Details

Department of Physics,
Durham University,
South Road,
Durham DH1 3LE
 
Tel: 44 (0)191 3343635