Astronomy

Current Members

Here is a list of everyone who works in Astronomy. Please add '@durham.ac.uk' onto the email addresses given in brackets after the name. Links are also given to their official departmental WWW profile.

Staff
Prof David Alexander (d.m.alexander)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Carlton Baugh (c.m.baugh)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Richard Bower (r.g.bower)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anthony Brown (anthony.brown)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Paula Chadwick (p.m.chadwick)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Shaun Cole (shaun.cole)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ryan Cooke (ryan.j.cooke)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alis Deason (alis.j.deason)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Chris Done (chris.done)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Alastair Edge (alastair.edge)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Peter Edwards (p.j.edwards)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Dr Vincent Eke (v.r.eke)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Azadeh Fattahi (azadeh.fattahi-savadjani)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Carlos Frenk (c.s.frenk)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof John Girkin (j.m.girkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Mathilde Jauzac (mathilde.jauzac)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Adrian Jenkins (a.r.jenkins)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Cedric Lacey (cedric.lacey)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Baojiu Li (baojiu.li)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Gordon Love (g.d.love)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Richard Massey (r.j.massey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anna McLeod (anna.mcleod)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nigel Metcalfe (nigel.metcalfe)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Department/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Leah Morabito (leah.k.morabito)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Simon Morris (simon.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Tim Morris (t.j.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Peder Norberg (peder.norberg)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kieran O'Brien (kieran.s.obrien)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr James Osborn (james.osborn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Tim Roberts (t.p.roberts)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Christopher Saunter (christopher.saunter)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Simone Scaringi (simone.scaringi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ray Sharples (r.m.sharples)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ian Smail (ian.smail)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Russell Smith (russell.smith)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Mark Swinbank (a.m.swinbank)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Tom Theuns (tom.theuns)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Richard Wilson (r.w.wilson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Postdocs/Fellows
Dr Nicola Amorisco (nicola.c.amorisco)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Aristeidis Amvrosiadis (aristeidis.amvrosiadis)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Christian Arnold (christian.arnold)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lisa Bardou (lisa.f.bardou)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alastair Basden (a.g.basden)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nazim Bharmal (n.a.bharmal)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alistair Bounds (a.d.bounds)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Cyril Bourgenot (cyril.bourgenot)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Bramall (d.g.bramall)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Timothy Butterley (timothy.butterley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ariadna Calcines Rosario (ariadna.calcines)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Tsang Keung Chan (tsang.k.chan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ting-Yun Cheng (ting-yun.cheng)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Christopher Davison (christopher.davison)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Sofia Dimoudi (sofia.dimoudi)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Marc Dubbeldam (c.m.dubbeldam)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Andrew Dunn (andrew.dunn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alexander Eggemeier (alexander.eggemeier)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Oliver Farley (o.j.d.farley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Liang Gao (liang.gao)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Deli Geng (deli.geng)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Stephen Goodsell (stephen.goodsell)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Soh Ikarashi (soh.ikarashi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Krystian Ilkiewicz (krystian.a.ilkiewicz)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Graham Jones (graham.jones)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jacob Kegerreis (jacob.kegerreis)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Andrew Kirby (a.k.kirby)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Lagattuta (david.j.lagattuta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Hermine Landt-Wilman (hermine.landt)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Penelope Lawton (p.f.lawton)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Soft Matter and Biological Physics
Mr David Little (david.j.little)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Sheridan Lloyd (sheridan.j.lloyd)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Dr Guillaume Mahler (guillaume.mahler)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Graham Murray (g.j.murray)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Anna Niemiec (anna.niemiec)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr James Nightingale (james.w.nightingale)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kyle Oman (kyle.a.oman)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Ken Parkin (kenneth.parkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Department
Dr Adriano Poci (adriano.poci)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Annagrazia Puglisi (annagrazia.puglisi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alexander Richings (alexander.j.richings)Dept. WWWDepartment/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Andrew Robertson (andrew.robertson)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr David Rosario (david.rosario)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Cameron Rulten (cameron.b.rulten)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr David Ryder (d.a.ryder)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jurgen Schmoll (jurgen.schmoll)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Shi Shao (shi.shao)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Difu Shi (difu.shi)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lazar Staykov (lazar.staykov)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Patrick Stowell (john.p.stowell)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ryota Tomaru (ryota.tomaru)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Matthew Townson (matthew.townson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Luke Tyas (luke.m.tyas)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Michael Wilson (michael.j.wilson)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Edward Younger (e.j.younger)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Postgraduates
Mr Atreya Acharyya (atreya.acharyya)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Miss Carolina Andonie-Bahamondes (carolina.p.andonie)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr JoaquĆ­n Armijo-Torres (joaquin.a.armijo-torres)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Stefan Arridge (stefan.arridge)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Cristian Barrera-Hinojosa (cristian.g.barrera)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Christoph Becker (christoph.becker)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alex Beckett (alexander.beckett)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Jack Birkin (jack.birkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Thomas Callingham (thomas.m.callingham)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Catherine Cerny (catherine.cerny)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Mark Corrigan (m.k.k.corrigan)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Carolina Cuesta Lazaro (carolina.cuesta-lazaro)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Aoife Curran (aoife.m.curran)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Tony Dalton (tony.dalton)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Chris Davies (christopher.t.davies)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Miguel De-icaza-lizaola (miguel.a.de-icaza-lizaola)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Ugne Dudzeviciute (ugne.dudzeviciute2)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Willem Elbers (willem.h.elbers)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Mr Edward Elliott (edward.j.elliott)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Alice Eltvedt (alice.m.eltvedt)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Amy Etherington (amy.etherington)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Tilly Anne Evans (tilly.evans)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Victoria Fawcett (victoria.fawcett)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Victor Juan Forouhar Moreno (victor.j.forouhar)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Matteo Fratta (matteo.fratta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Sam Gibson (sam.gibson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Polly Gill (polly.j.gill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Christopher Graham (christopher.j.graham)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ryan Griffiths (ryan.griffiths)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Cameron Grove (cameron.grove)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Kathryn Hartley (kathryn.e.hartley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Max Harvey (max.harvey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr Qiuhan He (qiuhan.he)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Volkan Benedict Hofmann (benedict.hofmann)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Joshua Hughes (joshua.g.hughes)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Filip Husko (filip.husko)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Andrew Jackson (andrew.r.jackson2)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ashley Kelly (a.j.kelly)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Lizelke Klindt (lizelke.klindt)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Suttikoon Koonkor (suttikoon.koonkor)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Brivael Laloux (brivael.laloux)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Angus Duncan Alan Mackenzie (angus.d.mackenzie)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Makun Madar (makun.s.madar)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Aurelie Magniez (aurelie.magniez)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Giorgio Manzoni (giorgio.manzoni)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Jake Mitchell (jake.a.mitchell)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Myles Mitchell (m.a.mitchell)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Samuel Moore (samuel.g.moore)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr James Petley (james.w.petley)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Arnau Quera-Bofarull (arnau.quera-bofarull)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Ry Render (patrick.d.render)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Alberto Rosales-de-Leon (alberto.rosales-de-leon)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Thomas Rose (thomas.d.rose)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Cheng-Zong Ruan (cheng-zong.ruan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Sergio Ruiz-Bonilla (sergio.ruiz-bonilla)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Thomas Sandnes (thomas.d.sandnes)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aidan Sedgewick (aidan.sedgewick)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Benjamin Shaw (benjamin.j.shaw)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Ellen Sirks (ellen.l.sirks)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Tiantian Sun (tiantian.sun)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Calvin Sykes (calvin.v.sykes)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Hannah Turner (hannah.c.turner)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Louise Welsh (louise.a.welsh)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Ms Lily Westerby-griffin (lily.westerby-griffin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Lai Zhang (lai.zhang)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Han Zhang (han.zhang3)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Support Staff
Secretarial
Ms Lindsay Borrero (lindsay.borrero)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mrs Dorothy Jenkins (d.m.jenkins)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Shufei Rowe (shufei.rowe)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Claire Whitehill (claire.whitehill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
 
Computing/Engineering
Dr Peter Draper (p.w.draper)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Joshua Guy (joshua.j.guy)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Helly (j.c.helly)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aqeeb Hussain (aqeeb.r.hussain)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alan Lotts (a.p.lotts)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Gary McCallum (gary.mccallum)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Richard Regan (richard.regan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aleksander Wawrzynczak (aleksander.wawrzynczak)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Emeritus Staff
Prof David Flower (david.flower)Dept. WWWQuantum Light and Matter
Prof John Lucey (john.lucey)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Myers (r.m.myers)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Osborne (j.l.osborne)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Tom Shanks (tom.shanks)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Stephenson (f.r.stephenson)Dept. WWWApplied Historical Astronomy
Prof Martin Ward (martin.ward)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy

Contact Details

Department of Physics,
Durham University,
South Road,
Durham DH1 3LE
 
Tel: 44 (0)191 3343635