Astronomy

Current Members

Here is a list of everyone who works in Astronomy. Please add '@durham.ac.uk' onto the email addresses given in brackets after the name. Links are also given to their official departmental WWW profile.

Staff
Prof David Alexander (d.m.alexander)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Carlton Baugh (c.m.baugh)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Sownak Bose (sownak.bose)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anthony Brown (anthony.brown)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Marco Cecconello (marco.cecconello)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Paula Chadwick (p.m.chadwick)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Shaun Cole (shaun.cole)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Ryan Cooke (ryan.j.cooke)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Meryem Dag (meryem.k.dag)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Alis Deason (alis.j.deason)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Chris Done (chris.done)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Alastair Edge (alastair.edge)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Vincent Eke (v.r.eke)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Azadeh Fattahi (azadeh.fattahi-savadjani)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Francesca Fragkoudi (francesca.fragkoudi)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Carlos Frenk (c.s.frenk)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Dimitri Gadotti (dimitri.a.gadotti)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof John Girkin (j.m.girkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Robert Harris (robert.j.harris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Mathilde Jauzac (mathilde.jauzac)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Adrian Jenkins (a.r.jenkins)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Cedric Lacey (cedric.lacey)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Baojiu Li (baojiu.li)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Richard Massey (r.j.massey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anna McLeod (anna.mcleod)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nigel Metcalfe (nigel.metcalfe)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Department/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Leah Morabito (leah.k.morabito)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Simon Morris (simon.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Peder Norberg (peder.norberg)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Kieran O'Brien (kieran.s.obrien)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof James Osborn (james.osborn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Tim Roberts (t.p.roberts)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Simone Scaringi (simone.scaringi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ray Sharples (r.m.sharples)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Russell Smith (russell.smith)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Mark Swinbank (a.m.swinbank)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Tom Theuns (tom.theuns)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Richard Wilson (r.w.wilson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Postdocs/Fellows
Dr Alejandra Aguirre-Santaella (alejandra.aguirre-santaella)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Aristeidis Amvrosiadis (aristeidis.amvrosiadis)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lisa Bardou (lisa.f.bardou)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Nazim Bharmal (n.a.bharmal)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Cyril Bourgenot (cyril.bourgenot)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Bramall (d.g.bramall)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Shaun Brown (shaun.t.brown)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Timothy Butterley (timothy.butterley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ariadna Calcines Rosario (ariadna.calcines)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Andreia Carrillo (andreia.carrillo)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ting-Yun Cheng (ting-yun.cheng)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Sofia Dimoudi (sofia.dimoudi)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jessica Doppel (jessica.e.doppel)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Marc Dubbeldam (c.m.dubbeldam)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Andrew Dunn (andrew.dunn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Willem Elbers (willem.h.elbers)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Miss Marta Escriche (marta.escriche)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Oliver Farley (o.j.d.farley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Deli Geng (deli.geng)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Polly Gill (polly.j.gill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Stephen Goodsell (stephen.goodsell)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Christopher Graham (christopher.j.graham)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Claire Greenwell (claire.l.greenwell)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Joshua Guy (joshua.j.guy)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Anastasia Gvozdenko (anastasia.gvozdenko)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Kathryn Hartley (kathryn.e.hartley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Qiuhan He (qiuhan.he)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Helawae Friew Kelemu (helawae.f.kelemu)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Gokmen Kilic (gokmen.kilic)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr David King (david.l.king)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Amy Knight (amy.h.knight)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr David Lagattuta (david.j.lagattuta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Gavin Leroy (gavin.leroy)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Zefeng Li (zefeng.li)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology/Spectroscopy
Dr Sophia Lilleengen (sophia.lilleengen)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Sheridan Lloyd (sheridan.j.lloyd)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Dr Perrine Lognone (perrine.l.lognone)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Shengdong Lu (shengdong.lu)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Aurelie Magniez (aurelie.magniez)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Sajjad Mahdizadeh (sajjad.mahdizadeh)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Deborah Malone (deborah.c.malone)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Tim Morris (t.j.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Graham Murray (g.j.murray)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Kyle Oman (kyle.a.oman)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr John Paice (john.a.paice)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Ken Parkin (kenneth.parkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Bronwyn Reichardt Chu (bronwyn.j.reichardtchu)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Alexander Riley (alexander.riley2)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Cameron Rulten (cameron.b.rulten)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr David Ryder (d.a.ryder)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Isabel Santos (isabel.santos)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Till Sawala (till.sawala)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Jurgen Schmoll (jurgen.schmoll)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Francesco Sergio (francesco.sergio)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Dr Difu Shi (difu.shi)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Daniele Sorini (daniele.sorini)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lazar Staykov (lazar.staykov)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Frits Sweijen (frits.sweijen)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Matthew Temple (matthew.j.temple)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Fionagh Thomson (fionagh.thomson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Roland Timmerman (roland.timmerman)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Stephane Vaz Werner De Almeida (stephane.werner)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Maximilian Von Wietersheim-Kramsta (maximilian.von-wietersheim-kramsta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kai Wang (kai.wang)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Paul White (p.a.white)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Lai Zhang (lai.zhang)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Postgraduates
Miss Carolina Andonie-Bahamondes (carolina.p.andonie)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Atharva Bagul (atharva.k.bagul)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Kathryn Barrett (kathryn.m.barrett)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Bjarki Bjorgvinsson (bjarki.bjorgvinsson)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Rose Blyth (rose.blyth)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr James Carpenter (james.s.carpenter)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Catherine Cerny (catherine.cerny)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Jaya Chand (jaya.chand)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Michael Collier (michael.collier)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Edward Dewit (edward.dewit)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ian Dolby (ian.j.dolby)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Emily Escott (emily.l.escott)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr James Fleming (james.p.fleming)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Quantum Light and Matter
Mr Jeremi Grabas (jeremi.m.grabas)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ryan Griffiths (ryan.griffiths)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Scott Hagen (scott.hagen)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Marcus Halson (marcus.d.halson)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Filip Husko (filip.husko)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Ieva Jankute (ieva.jankute)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Miss Sarah Johnston (sarah.c.johnston)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Puttiwat Kongkaew (puttiwat.kongkaew)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Suttikoon Koonkor (suttikoon.koonkor)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Brivael Laloux (brivael.laloux)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Samuel Lange (samuel.c.lange)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Zoe Le Conte (zoe.a.le-conte)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Jinning Liang (jinning.liang)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Yuankang Liu (yuankang.liu)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Craig Maclean (craig.l.maclean)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Mac McMullan (mac.m.mcmullan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alexander Menegas (alexander.n.menegas)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Samuel Moore (samuel.g.moore)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Declan Morbey (declan.morbey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Amrit Prittam Nayak (amrit.p.nayak)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Nency Patel (nency.r.patel)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr James Petley (james.w.petley)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Thomas Sandnes (thomas.d.sandnes)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Ciera Sargent (ciera.l.sargent)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Ramkrishan Sharma (ramkrishan.sharma)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Paul Smith (paul.smith)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Brian Steward (brian.steward)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Joaquin Sureda-Hernandez (joaquin.m.sureda)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Dominic Taylor (dominic.j.taylor)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Thomas Tomlinson (thomas.j.tomlinson)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Hannah Turner (hannah.c.turner)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Ms Martina Veresvarska (martina.veresvarska)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Yuchan Wang (yuchan.wang)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Siwenyue Zhang (siwenyue.zhang)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Lai Zhang (lai.zhang)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Haonan Zheng (haonan.zheng)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Support Staff
Secretarial
Mrs Dorothy Jenkins (d.m.jenkins)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Tamara McCallum (tamara.n.mccallum)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Lorraine Oram (lorraine.oram)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Shufei Rowe (shufei.rowe)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Claire Whitehill (claire.whitehill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
 
Computing/Engineering
Dr David Barr (david.barr)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alastair Basden (a.g.basden)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Peter Draper (p.w.draper)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr John Helly (j.c.helly)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Mark Lovell (m.r.lovell)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Paul O'Connor (paul.b.o'connor)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Dr Fawada Qaiser (fawada.qaiser)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Richard Regan (richard.regan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Emily Ronson (emily.ronson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Matthijs van der Wild (matthijs.van-der-wild)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Paul Walker (paul.a.walker)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aleksander Wawrzynczak (aleksander.wawrzynczak)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Emeritus Staff
Prof David Flower (david.flower)Dept. WWWQuantum Light and Matter
Prof John Lucey (john.lucey)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Myers (r.m.myers)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Osborne (j.l.osborne)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Tom Shanks (tom.shanks)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ian Smail (ian.smail)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Stephenson (f.r.stephenson)Dept. WWWApplied Historical Astronomy
Prof Martin Ward (martin.ward)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy

Contact Details

Department of Physics,
Durham University,
South Road,
Durham DH1 3LE
 
Tel: 44 (0)191 3343635