Astronomy

Current Members

Here is a list of everyone who works in Astronomy. Please add '@durham.ac.uk' onto the email addresses given in brackets after the name. Links are also given to their official departmental WWW profile.

Staff
Prof David Alexander (d.m.alexander)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Carlton Baugh (c.m.baugh)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Sownak Bose (sownak.bose)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Richard Bower (r.g.bower)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anthony Brown (anthony.brown)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Paula Chadwick (p.m.chadwick)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Shaun Cole (shaun.cole)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ryan Cooke (ryan.j.cooke)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alis Deason (alis.j.deason)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Chris Done (chris.done)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Alastair Edge (alastair.edge)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Peter Edwards (p.j.edwards)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Dr Vincent Eke (v.r.eke)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Azadeh Fattahi (azadeh.fattahi-savadjani)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Carlos Frenk (c.s.frenk)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof John Girkin (j.m.girkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Mathilde Jauzac (mathilde.jauzac)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Adrian Jenkins (a.r.jenkins)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Cedric Lacey (cedric.lacey)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Baojiu Li (baojiu.li)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Gordon Love (g.d.love)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Richard Massey (r.j.massey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Anna McLeod (anna.mcleod)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nigel Metcalfe (nigel.metcalfe)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Department/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Leah Morabito (leah.k.morabito)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Prof Simon Morris (simon.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Tim Morris (t.j.morris)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Peder Norberg (peder.norberg)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kieran O'Brien (kieran.s.obrien)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr James Osborn (james.osborn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Prof Tim Roberts (t.p.roberts)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Simone Scaringi (simone.scaringi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ray Sharples (r.m.sharples)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Ian Smail (ian.smail)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Russell Smith (russell.smith)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Mark Swinbank (a.m.swinbank)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Tom Theuns (tom.theuns)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Richard Wilson (r.w.wilson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Postdocs/Fellows
Dr Nicola Amorisco (nicola.c.amorisco)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Aristeidis Amvrosiadis (aristeidis.amvrosiadis)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Christian Arnold (christian.arnold)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lisa Bardou (lisa.f.bardou)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Alastair Basden (a.g.basden)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Nazim Bharmal (n.a.bharmal)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Cyril Bourgenot (cyril.bourgenot)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Bramall (d.g.bramall)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Timothy Butterley (timothy.butterley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Ariadna Calcines Rosario (ariadna.calcines)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Andreia Carrillo (andreia.carrillo)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Tsang Keung Chan (tsang.k.chan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Ting-Yun Cheng (ting-yun.cheng)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Christopher Davison (christopher.davison)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Rishi Deshmukh (rishi.deshmukh)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Sofia Dimoudi (sofia.dimoudi)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Marc Dubbeldam (c.m.dubbeldam)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Andrew Dunn (andrew.dunn)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Oliver Farley (o.j.d.farley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Deli Geng (deli.geng)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Stephen Goodsell (stephen.goodsell)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Soh Ikarashi (soh.ikarashi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Andrew Kirby (a.k.kirby)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr David Lagattuta (david.j.lagattuta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Hermine Landt-Wilman (hermine.landt)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Guillaume Mahler (guillaume.mahler)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Graham Murray (g.j.murray)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Anna Niemiec (anna.niemiec)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr James Nightingale (james.w.nightingale)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Kyle Oman (kyle.a.oman)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Ken Parkin (kenneth.parkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Department
Dr Adriano Poci (adriano.poci)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Annagrazia Puglisi (annagrazia.puglisi)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Alexander Richings (alexander.j.richings)Dept. WWWDepartment/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Cameron Rulten (cameron.b.rulten)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr David Ryder (d.a.ryder)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Jurgen Schmoll (jurgen.schmoll)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Difu Shi (difu.shi)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Lazar Staykov (lazar.staykov)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Patrick Stowell (john.p.stowell)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Nicole Thomas (nicole.l.thomas)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Fionagh Thomson (fionagh.thomson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Ryota Tomaru (ryota.tomaru)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Dr Matthew Townson (matthew.townson)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Paul White (p.a.white)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr Michael Wilson (michael.j.wilson)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Postgraduates
Miss Carolina Andonie-Bahamondes (carolina.p.andonie)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr JoaquĆ­n Armijo-Torres (joaquin.a.armijo-torres)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Cristian Barrera-Hinojosa (cristian.g.barrera)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alex Beckett (alexander.beckett)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Centre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Jack Birkin (jack.birkin)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr William Bowdery (william.a.bowdery)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Ms Catherine Cerny (catherine.cerny)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Carolina Cuesta Lazaro (carolina.cuesta-lazaro)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Aoife Curran (aoife.m.curran)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Tony Dalton (tony.dalton)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Miguel De-icaza-lizaola (miguel.a.de-icaza-lizaola)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Willem Elbers (willem.h.elbers)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology/Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology
Mr Edward Elliott (edward.j.elliott)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Alice Eltvedt (alice.m.eltvedt)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Emily Escott (emily.l.escott)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Amy Etherington (amy.etherington)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Tilly Anne Evans (tilly.evans)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Victoria Fawcett (victoria.fawcett)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr James Fleming (james.p.fleming)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Quantum Light and Matter
Mr Victor Juan Forouhar Moreno (victor.j.forouhar)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Matteo Fratta (matteo.fratta)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Polly Gill (polly.j.gill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Christopher Graham (christopher.j.graham)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ryan Griffiths (ryan.griffiths)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Cameron Grove (cameron.grove)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Scott Hagen (scott.hagen)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Marcus Halson (marcus.d.halson)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Kathryn Hartley (kathryn.e.hartley)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Max Harvey (max.harvey)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Mr Qiuhan He (qiuhan.he)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Volkan Benedict Hofmann (benedict.hofmann)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Joshua Hughes (joshua.g.hughes)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Filip Husko (filip.husko)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Andrew Jackson (andrew.r.jackson2)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Ashley Kelly (a.j.kelly)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Puttiwat Kongkaew (puttiwat.kongkaew)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Suttikoon Koonkor (suttikoon.koonkor)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Brivael Laloux (brivael.laloux)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Samuel Lange (samuel.c.lange)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Yuankang Liu (yuankang.liu)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Matthew Lowery (matthew.w.lowery)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Maria Luna-Garcia (maria.m.luna-garcia)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Angus Duncan Alan Mackenzie (angus.d.mackenzie)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Makun Madar (makun.s.madar)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Aurelie Magniez (aurelie.magniez)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Giorgio Manzoni (giorgio.manzoni)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Jake Mitchell (jake.a.mitchell)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Samuel Moore (samuel.g.moore)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Amrit Prittam Nayak (amrit.p.nayak)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Nency Patel (nency.r.patel)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr James Petley (james.w.petley)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Arnau Quera-Bofarull (arnau.quera-bofarull)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Alberto Rosales-de-Leon (alberto.rosales-de-leon)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Cheng-Zong Ruan (cheng-zong.ruan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Sergio Ruiz-Bonilla (sergio.ruiz-bonilla)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Thomas Sandnes (thomas.d.sandnes)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aidan Sedgewick (aidan.sedgewick)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Benjamin Shaw (benjamin.j.shaw)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Ms Ellen Sirks (ellen.l.sirks)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Miss Tiantian Sun (tiantian.sun)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Calvin Sykes (calvin.v.sykes)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr James Thorne (james.thorne)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Hannah Turner (hannah.c.turner)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Ms Martina Veresvarska (martina.veresvarska)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Miss Yuchan Wang (yuchan.wang)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Ms Lily Westerby-griffin (lily.westerby-griffin)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Miss Lai Zhang (lai.zhang)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Han Zhang (han.zhang3)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Support Staff
Secretarial
Ms Lindsay Borrero (lindsay.borrero)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mrs Dorothy Jenkins (d.m.jenkins)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Lorraine Oram (lorraine.oram)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Shufei Rowe (shufei.rowe)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mrs Claire Whitehill (claire.whitehill)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
 
Computing/Engineering
Dr Peter Draper (p.w.draper)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy/Institute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Joshua Guy (joshua.j.guy)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Helly (j.c.helly)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aqeeb Hussain (aqeeb.r.hussain)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Gary McCallum (gary.mccallum)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Mr Richard Regan (richard.regan)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Dr Matthijs van der Wild (matthijs.van-der-wild)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Mr Paul Walker (paul.a.walker)Dept. WWWInstitute for Computational Cosmology
Mr Aleksander Wawrzynczak (aleksander.wawrzynczak)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Emeritus Staff
Prof David Flower (david.flower)Dept. WWWQuantum Light and Matter
Prof John Lucey (john.lucey)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Myers (r.m.myers)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation
Dr John Osborne (j.l.osborne)Dept. WWWCentre for Advanced Instrumentation/Gamma Ray Astronomy
Prof Tom Shanks (tom.shanks)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy
Prof Richard Stephenson (f.r.stephenson)Dept. WWWApplied Historical Astronomy
Prof Martin Ward (martin.ward)Dept. WWWCentre for Extragalactic Astronomy

Contact Details

Department of Physics,
Durham University,
South Road,
Durham DH1 3LE
 
Tel: 44 (0)191 3343635